Think-a-link

News/Discoveries/Wow

This was last week’s destruction plan for Indonesian island Aru. This is today’s relief, if only today’s.

Bees’ brains more advanced than you think. (A side note: the simple Y-maze setup never ceases to amaze)

What makes the ‘bio-duck’ sound?! Scientists finally have the answer. I guess not all whales say “Woooooooooooaaaaaa!”

Blue-footed boobies having the blues – no fish? a trophic cascade?

The best case of mimicry yet – a vine that mimics whatever host tree species it climbs. And the hypotheses for how it does this are mindboggling!

Weird/Awesome/Funny

Slurp! Yummy dead relatives! This proves that crabs are weirdly awesome.

The gentle quiet kiss of death – sailfish don’t always thrash and crash into a sardine school. (A side note on science writing: Contrast with the same story by another writer (one of my favourites) that I think is definitely more complete.)

R-rated, uncensored, funny video of the lives of octopodes. Yes, that is the plural of octopus. Although I think the narrator tries too hard occasionally, he does have such gems as “..they are one hundred percent a-ma-zing” and “clams are stupid”.

Two fangs good, but a hundred legs better.” Snake eats centipede, centipede eats its way out, everyone dies.

Giant rats and hilarious writing!

Wow! I thought this only happened to the saber-toothed squirrel in the movie Ice Age, but wood frogs in Alaska freeze over Winter and thaw in Spring!

Other/People/Opinions

Exotic pets, one man’s transformation, tragedy in Ohio, a kangaroo trying to mate with a pig and much more in this wonderful article. It’s amazing that there are places where “You must have a license to own a dog, but you are free to purchase a lion or baboon and keep it as a pet.”

A very cool infographic on women authors of scholarly papers over the years. Check out the subfields for your own area of interest/work!

A simple honest post on non-academic post-PhD plans.

About Divya

Predator-prey behaviour fascinates me, obviously enough to cross oceans and more than 8,500 miles. I wish I could read fast enough to catch up with this rapidly developing field. When I take a break from all the paper-reading, I read other things, mostly but not necessarily to do with science. I also wish I could write as much as I read, but clearly there needs to be an equilibrium whose stability I cannot guarantee. Also, I usually need the help of music to get me through all the reading and writing. So, here's to the things I love - more reading, writing and music!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Think-a-link

  1. David Haden says:

    JURN now searches across open access (and otherwise free) ejournals in ecology and related fields… http://jurnsearch.wordpress.com/titles-indexed-ecology-related/

    Like

Leave a Reply

