Online course

Coursera offers a ton of free online courses by some of the top universities in the world, covering a wide range of topics. I’ve done quite a few of these in the past (from ‘Writing in the Sciences’ to ‘History of Rock’ and all else inbetween) and found them very informative and quite fun. Courses usually have a set of short videos uploaded each week with quizzes and assignments; there is also a lively discussion forum that sadly I’ve not had too much time to participate in. They are a great place to find others doing the same course, maybe even in the same city as you, allowing more direct interaction and learning if you want. The best part is the courses can be done at your own pace, even after the designated week because all the material will be available online! There are also options for certification if you want.

I’ve just signed up for the ‘Programming for everybody‘ course offered by the University of Michigan. It’s an introduction to basic Python and simple data analyses. I know we’ve all been talking about how we don’t have enough programming courses at ISU, among other things, and this looks like a good opportunity to build on that skill. It’ll be great if there were a few of us doing this course at the same time; we could have discussions on the side and help clear each other’s doubts, over some beer of course 😀

Check out the intro video before you decide!

About Divya

Predator-prey behaviour fascinates me enough to cross oceans. I wish I could read like Vicki the 'Small Wonder'. When I take a break from all the paper-reading, I read other things, mostly but not necessarily to do with science. I also wish I could write as much as I read, but clearly there needs to be an equilibrium whose stability I cannot guarantee. Also, I usually need the help of music to get me through all the reading and writing. See a pattern?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online course

  1. Pat Cain says:

    I’m in!

    Don’t forget to add that for $50, you can get an official certificate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

