Artificial Intelligence

Please read this because I’d like to talk about it with someone. I know it’s super long but it’s easy to read and full of crazy mind-bending stuff. Trust me, you’ll like it.

Like this figure:

Or these quotes:

“AI has by now succeeded in doing essentially everything that requires ‘thinking’ but has failed to do most of what people and animals do ‘without thinking.”

So the world’s $1,000 computers are now beating the mouse brain and they’re at about a thousandth of human level. This doesn’t sound like much until you remember that we were at about a trillionth of human level in 1985, a billionth in 1995, and a millionth in 2005. Being at a thousandth in 2015 puts us right on pace to get to an affordable computer by 2025 that rivals the power of the brain.

About Pat Cain

I like discovering things that are non-random. I'm fascinated when my dog remembers how to do a trick after a year of not doing that particular trick, or when I know to wear a jacket tomorrow when it's warm and windy today. As a biologist, I suppose that's my main job: to find and describe occurrences of non-randomness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Artificial Intelligence

  1. Divya says:

    Holy crap that was MIND-BLOWING!!!!
    1. There was so much repetition and for the first time, I will not complain because ALL the repetition is so incredibly important.
    2. “everyone takes part in the risk we take while advancing to ASI, whether we like it or not” WOOOAAAAHHHH!!!! What a hard-hitting realisation this is!
    3. I’m still going to watch the movie Chappie, because I’m now a little more well-informed on a lot of things, including the limitations of human interpretation and imagination. I also want to watch all the AI movies ever made.
    4. This post is so ridiculously long (good thing you didn’t mention it’s in 2 parts – oh, oops!); it took close to two hours, two cups of coffee and a cinnamon roll, to finish reading it. And it is definitely WORTH it because it is so ridiculously well-written, easy and filled with humourous anecdotes, sidenotes and comics.
    5. I’m going to re-read this article every now and then, to remind myself of things like endless possibilities, exponential growth, human incredulity, and all-the-stuff-I-don’t-know-about-AI.

    Like

Leave a Reply

